How Many Types Of Visa Are There?


3 Answers

Oscar De La Huerte Profile
A visa is a form of documentation that allows the holder entry, leave, or stay in a foreign country for a specified period.

Each country will have its own visa system, and therefore its own visa categories.

What types of visa are there?
Considering that each country has its own set of visa rules, the answer will depend on which country you are referring to. Most countries will have the following visas:

  • Transit visa- these are valid only for a very short period of time (for example 3 days for US transit visas).
  • Tourist visas- these are also available for a limited period of time (and usually forbid the holder from carrying out business transactions).
  • Business visas- these provide permission for the holder to trade or conduct business in a country for a specified period of time.

Temporary working visas- these are valid for a longer period of time.

Certain countries will have agreements between them regarding the requirement for visas. For example, a number of European countries have opted to group together and operate a joint border area under something known as the Schengen Agreement.

This means that travellers to the countries covered by this agreement need only apply for one common visa, as opposed to a different visa for each individual state.

Other types of visas you can apply for:

Most countries will also have visas that cover people in the following circumstances:

  • Spousal visas- that are for the spouse of the residents or citizens of a country.
  • Student visas- that allow stay for students that are enrolled in a course of study. These usually have allowances and restrictions for the amount of work a student can do whilst under this visa.
  • Diplomatic visas- these facilitate the travel of diplomats
  • Courtesy visas
  • Journalist visas
  • Fiancée visas
  • Immigrant visas
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered

Answer Question